Independent label: In 1994 Fierce Panda was formed by three music journalist namely John Harris, Paul Moody and Simon Williams. Fierce Panda Records Former Address: P.O.Box 7337 London N1 9NS. Fierce Panda Records is a London-based independent record label, with its first release in February 1994. It also produced a small number of releases that year by now famous artists such as Ash, The Bluetones, Baby Bird and Supergrass. Fierce Panda is also credited with releases by Coldplay, Astronaut, Air Traffic, Seafood, Art Brut, Embrace, Kenickie, The Blackout, Keane, Death Cab for Cutie, The Polyphonic Spree, Boy Kill Boy, Placebo, Shitdisco, Goldheart Assembly, and Acres of Lions. In the autumn of 1997, Fierce Panda formed the sub-label Rabid Badger Records to release more dance oriented music, and in spring 1998 the sub-label Livid Meerkat for post-rock music. Fierce Panda also had released compilation albums and EPs, whose titles are mainly puns, often in-jokes. In 2006 they announced their decision to cease production of one-off singles, concentrating instead on long-term projects and full-length albums. Dead Disco's 2006 single "Automatic" was announced as the final single. Continuing to release albums however, including "Vivian, Don't" by The Spinto Band, and the debut album from Hatcham Social among many others. On 21 March 2011, the label released the debut album, Chasing After Ghosts, by The Crookes. Their "Wibbling Rivalry" single, an interview with Oasis' Liam and Noel Gallagher, holds the record for the highest-charting interview single in the UK Singles Chart, reaching number 52 in November 1995. Fierce Panda's highest-charting single was "Emily Kane" by Art Brut, which reached number 41 in May 2005, missing out on the Top 40 by a mere two sales. 2008 saw Fierce Panda set up its management stable which currently includes Albert Gold, Hatcham Social, Longfellow and Felt Tip. In 2012 Fierce Panda also set up a publishing arm, named Fierce Panda Songs. Distributed By SRD.



Free Web Hosting